color required

Image

water color, oil pastel, ink

I look at the blog and I see a bunch of monochromatic stuff and I start to want color.  Then I need color, it’s like a test.  Then there is abstract which really is an aquired taste.  A taste that I like.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not going to pretend that I am good at it just that I enjoy doing it. There are no rules (none that I know anyway) and you can kind of run with it.  I watched a movie called Gerhard Richter Painting and it kinda blew my mind.  One review said the best parts were the ones where you got to watch him painting, so true.  He also said that (I’m paraphrasing) he lets the paintings paint themselves, which sounds kind of weird until you consider that I personally have said that I feel my best work happens when the ‘art’ falls out of my pen.  I guess that is the same idea, you let it happen.

Image

I new I wanted color, so I got out my son’s water colors and made one square of yellow…Then I put the yellow away and got out the green, then got out the yellow again.  The blue was to fill the corner I left white…it didn’t seem right in white.  Oil pastels, for texture.  I had to wait for the paint to dry.

Image

The ink was an after thought, there was this interesting negative space left by the pastels.  Black ink seemed like the right thing to put in there.

It’s done and it took way, way to long.  Again it’s one AM and I am knackered.   But that was fun.  Hopefully you enjoy it as much as I do.

Music: Jace Everett  ‘Red Revelations’

Leave a Reply

